Sunday, 8 January 2012

Gluten Free Diet, what does that mean exactly?

Gluten Free Blueberry Muffin

A Gluten Free Diet, pretty much means all foods that contain gluten are excluded from the diet. Unfortunately this is easier said than done, it is a bit of a mine field out there!.

Gluten is a protein which is found in wheat, barley, rye, malts, kamut (also known as Khorasan Wheat), spelt and triticale (triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye).  These products are found everywhere, in additives,flavouring, stabilisers, thickeners and hide under the umbrella of "dextrin".  Many gluten free diets exclude oats as well as the above products.

There are many reasons why people go on gluten free diets, Celiac Disease is one of the main ones, other reasons can be weight loss, irritable bowel syndrome, or simply a trend they are following.  Always check out the reason why your guest or crew are on there diet, so you know if it is a severe illness or simply a fad.

Toasted Almonds

Gluten Free Foods that can be substituted for gluten products are,
Corn, potato, rice, tapioca which has be derived from cassava, amaranth, arrowroot, millet, montina, lupin (lupin should be used with caution many people have severe reaction to this), quinoa, taro, chai seeds, yam and sorghum (jowar).  Bean, soybean and nut flours are great added to a gluten free diet for a good source of protein and fibre.
Buckwheat can be used in a gluten free diet because it is actually not a wheat but often products labelled buckwheat can be a mixture of wheat and buckwheat so always read the label.

Gluten free beverages
Rum, gin vodka, liqueurs, port, cider, sherry, champagne and wine.



"Gluten Free" standards vary around the globe and products labelled gluten free are often not completely absent of gluten but are below that countries recognised harmful gluten level.

Items that may contain gluten are
Baked beans, cereal, sausages, marinated meat, imitation seafood's, dry roasted nuts, ice-cream/desserts, fish and chips, crisps, pasta sauces, soups, sauces, gravy.

Items that will contain gluten unless otherwise stated 
Burger buns, bread, cakes, biscuits, sausages, saveloy's, cocktail sausages, beer, bagels, cheesecake (biscuit base), wraps, doughnuts, buns, pasta, most cereals, dried packet soups, pizza, pies, crackers, gravy.

This is a good resource website where I got some of the information above

 http://www.coeliac.org.nz/eating_gluten_free

This is the most fantastic gluten free blog and has an awesome gluten free blog list.  An absolute check it out!!

I haven't tried any of the below recipes

Sourdough bread recipe

Gluten free carrot cake/muffins
http://www.glutenfreeliving.co.nz/index.php/gluten_free_recipes/recipe/gluten-free_carrot_cake_or_muffins/

No comments:

Post a Comment